Let’s talk about height

I’ve always been partial to tall guys, like 6 ft tall and up, in manga, movies, and real life… not that I’m tall myself… I’m barely 5 ft 3 in. I’ve actually avoided reading manga where the main guy is really short… so bad of me, I know. However, things have changed a little after I started reading Library Wars (Toshokan Sensou). According to the Japanese version, Dojo is 165 cm, which makes him 5 ft 6 in, not 5 ft 4 in in the English version. Come on guys, give him the couple of inches! He’s short compared to Iku (she’s a couple inches taller), but I think he’s very attractive.🙂 Ren-kun from Strobe Edge is still my favorite male character, but Dojo is second. So there you have it! I will no longer skip manga that have short guys.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. starsamaria
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 10:19:44

    It’s funny how many guys in shojo manga are over 6 feet tall when that’s not exactly common in Japan. I think the only series I’ve read where the guy is short is Love*Com, which is a fun read.

    Reply

  2. dnjs
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 22:03:07

    lol, so true about the tall guys in manga. Although, the young guys in Japan are getting taller (compared to when I was in high school), but 6 ft. is pretty tall by Japanese standards.🙂 I haven’t read Love*Com yet… will have to check it out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

