Hair Color

Just something I noticed in the manga that I’ve read so far between dark and light hair guy characters… the guy with dark hair is usually more serious, earnest, and studious, while the guy with light hair is more carefree, funny, and somewhat of a playboy. It’s probably due to the typical Japanese image (reserved) vs. the typical Western image (boisterous). Personally, I prefer the dark-haired guy in the manga. Another thing that I noticed is that if there’s a love triangle involving both guys with dark and light hair, it seems like the main girl character ends up the dark-haired guy. Even when the dark-haired guy is the happy-go-lucky one, he gets the girl. But not always though, and there are times when the light-haired guy gets the girl, too.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. starsamaria
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 18:04:20

    I’ve noticed this too – at the very least most of the time in shojo series the male love interests have different hair colors, I guess to help the readers tell them apart. Usually one love interest will have red or blonde hair while the other will have black or brown hair. Off the top of my head, the only series I can think of where the girl chooses the blonde guy are Marmalade Boy and Kodocha (but the rival love interest in the latter series has blue hair, so…) And the heroine having reddish-brown hair is just as common!

    Reply

  2. dnjs
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 20:37:59

    Yes, why do so many of the heroines have reddish-brown hair? I prefer dark hair for both the guys and girls. I was trying to think of other manga where the light hair guy ends up getting the girl and… it’s hard to come up with many, lol, but I did find a couple more… Kare wa Tomodachi (neither guy had black hair though), Koi Shitagari no Blue (I really wanted the heroine to choose the dark hair guy), and Yume Miru Taiyou.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

