Otome games

I just discovered the world of otome gaming, lol. Not that it’s a completely new thing for me (I tried Tokimeki Memorial Girl’s Side 1st Love last year), but ever since my son was born, I haven’t had much time to play video games. He’s older now, so I’m starting to have more free time again. I realize that this isn’t really manga related, but I’m going to expand this blog a bit and talk about both manga and otome games… manga will still be the main focus though.🙂

Otome games appeal to me for several reasons:
– Visual novel: for me, it’s like a cross between manga and anime.
– Beautiful artwork: there are so many games with gorgeous artwork… I wish I could buy them all, lol.
– Reverse harem: um… yeah, hello! Surrounded by all those bishies… yay!
– Choose your own adventure: I loved those kind of books as a kid.
– Role playing/simulation: Some otome games are strictly visual novels but others have some sort of sim-type play, whether it’s raising stats or doing mini-games. I used to love playing RPG games like Final Fantasy and Dragon Quest but always had a hard time defeating the bosses. At least I don’t have to worry about that in otome games, I hope, lol.

I bought a PSP (no, not the Vita which was twice as expensive) last week along with the English version of Hakuouki. I also placed an order with YesAsia for two more games (Japanese). I debated on whether to get the English or Japanese version of Hakuouki, but ended up buying the English one mainly because it was a lot cheaper and I wanted to play it right away. I like that that the game retained the Japanese voice acting. Hakuouki is a good first choice for me (I’m not counting Tokimeki Memorial Girl’s Side 1st Love… didn’t really like that game too much) because it contains historical adventure/romance and demons, both of which are high on my list of reading interests. I haven’t gotten very far yet, though. I just started on Chapter 3, going with the Okita route. I wish I had more time to play the game… there aren’t enough hours in a day! lol

Leave a Reply

