Hakuouki

I haven’t made a lot of progress with the Hakuouki PSP game because I got sidetracked by the anime, lol. I didn’t realize how popular the Hakuouki franchise is in Japan until I got the game… I’ve been so out of the loop on video games and anime for the past few years. I wasn’t planning to watch the entire anime (both seasons) right away, but it kind of sucked me in… and talk about an emotional roller coaster, wow. I actually read the synopsis of each episode before watching the anime, so I knew what was going to happen and I’m glad that I did because I probably would have been upset at the ending. I’m not going to mention specific details in this post (don’t want to spoil anything for anyone who might not know the story… which is probably only a small number of people, lol). While a bit depressing, I can’t fault the way the story progresses in the anime… they were warriors fighting many battles and some also drank the ochimizu (water of life) and became rasetsu (a fury). I was hoping for a happy ending though (hey, I’m a shoujo manga fan and love happy endings). Not a “let’s get married” kind of ending, but something that showed he definitely survived… like eyes opening, breathing, hand grabbing, or something! Even though the ending could be considered ambiguous, it does look like he passed away from his injuries… sniff. Still holding out hope that maybe he didn’t though…

So, now I’m back to playing the game, yay! After watching the anime, it will be nice to play and find the good endings for the characters. I’m still on the Okita route, but I can’t wait to try both Saitou and Hijikata as well. Those three are my favorite characters. I initially choose Okita over the other two because I’m not a huge fan of long hair on guys, lol. But from what I’ve seen in the anime and CG shots from the game (I think), most of the guys end up with shorter hair and dressed in western clothes… omg, holy hotness!🙂

In addition to the anime and games, a ton of Hakuouki books have been published (manga, light novels, anthologies, photo books, etc.). I did order a light novel (one out of four) and an anthology from Honto earlier this week (first order from them and it went smoothly). I also ordered an issue of Comic B’s-Log Kyun, which has manga adaptations of games and anime, from Akadot Retail (see Stores for more info about their site). Of course, I bought it because Hakuouki is being serialized in the magazine, but there are also other adaptations that look really good (based on the pictures I’ve seen on their website). Unfortunately, manga magazines are expensive because of the shipping cost, so I’m not sure if I will keep buying it though.

Leave a Reply

