Hanayaka Nari, Waga Ichizoku first impressions

Hanayaka Nari, Waga Ichizoku is a Japanese visual novel/simulation historical otome game taking place in the Taisho era. The main protagonist is an 18 year old girl who starts working as a maid for a powerful family with six bishie sons, ranging in age from 34 to 16. The six sons all have different mothers and their personalities are also very different. Their father is planning to retire as head of the family and pass on the entire family fortune to only one son, the one who can amuse him the most and get 10 points within a set timeframe (June – March)… this causes lots of family drama… which, of course, the main protagonist somehow gets herself involved in… because otherwise it wouldn’t be much of a game, lol.

I started playing this game a few days ago and wow, it’s a really long game… the story itself takes place over one year, week-by-week, and involves stat raising and mini-quests… not that I’m upset by this though… definitely getting my money’s worth.🙂 So far I’ve played the game for 14 hours and I’m still on my first route (Susumu), lol. Edited on 6/29 to clarify that I was still on the general route but choose Susumu to see his events at the 14 hour mark. Now at 21 hours, I’ve finally started down Susumu’s individual route… 21 hours, wow! I was actually planning to start with the oldest (Tadashi) and work my way down (skipping Shigeru – sorry, not interested in girly men with long hair and Masashi – the youngest who’s a little sh*thead. Well, the two oldest brothers aren’t very nice at first either, but Masashi is worse than them) but somehow I ended up with Susumu first. Okay, so it’s taking a little longer to play because I have to pause and look up some of the kanji. I was also wasting a lot time searching the mansion for requests when I should have headed off to the Ginza area (tons of people requesting help there). As for raising stats, I was lucky and passed the first inspection with no problems, even though I was just guessing on which chores to schedule each week. I’ve since found a couple of different Japanese walkthroughs so I’ve been using them as a reference for setting my weekly schedule. I also skimmed the different routes for each brother but haven’t read them in detail though… kind of want to be surprised.🙂 I will post a review when I get done, maybe a month from now? lol

Leave a Reply

