Are Monthly Manga Magazines Worth Buying?

I have a love-hate relationship with manga magazines, so I end up purchasing them off and on throughout the year. If I lived in Japan, the answer to my main question above would be an easy, “yes”, since the magazines are so cheap for the number of monthly serialized manga chapters you get (usually around $4 – $5 for 600+ pages). Even though I end up buying the tankoubon for a lot of mangas, I still enjoy reading them first in the monthly magazines. However, because most manga magazines are the size of a Yellow Pages phone book for a large city, the cost for shipping them outside of Japan is pricey, adding about $8 – $10 per magazine.

It would be ideal if all manga magazines were available in digital versions, but unfortunately, there are still many popular shoujo and josei magazines that are only available in paper copies, mainly the Shogakukan ones like Petit Comic, Cheese!, BetsuComi, and Sho-Comi… come on Shogakukan, please jump on the digital magazine bandwagon! Hopefully they will eventually follow other companies, like Kodansha, which began offering digital versions of their magazines earlier this year.

Fortunately, the recent chapters of most of the current serialized shoujo and josei manga can be found at Mangalator, and the chapters are translated into a variety of languages by plenty of hard-working translators, including me.😉

So, I’m back to my dilemma about buying manga magazines that are not available digitally… there are two that are in my CD Japan shopping cart, both featuring my favorite mangaka, Yamada Komomo, on the cover!  I will probably end up buying just one (Petit Comic Zoukan issue), since a lot of the manga chapters from Petit Comic are eventually posted on Mangalator, yay!

Petit Comic magazines

Which magazine should I buy? Petit Comic Zoukan or Petit Comic?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chii2009
    May 15, 2015 @ 22:26:44

    Hi ,
    I’m Chii from Manga Cosmo. I read Kore Kara Hajimaru Koi o Oshiete,Totsuzen Desu ga, Ashita Kekkon Shimasu and I love them. We will be really glad if you would mind to let us retranslate it into Italian. Be sure we will credit you back. Thank you so much.

    Regards,
    Chii & Manga Cosmo Staff

    Reply

    • dnjs
      May 16, 2015 @ 21:05:24

      Sure, that’s fine. You can use my translations of Kore kara Hajimaru Koi o Oshiete and Totsuzen Desu ga, Ashita Kekkon Shimasu to re-translate into Italian. Please note that I didn’t translate chapter 7 of Totsuzen Desu ga, though. Thanks for asking!🙂

      Reply

      • chii2009
        May 16, 2015 @ 21:26:23

        Thank you very much. You are very kind. It’s possible for us to have also the permissions for Gozen 0-ji, Kiss Shi ni Kite yo? Sorry but your projects are very interesting. Regards.

      • dnjs
        May 16, 2015 @ 22:10:54

        yw🙂 Yes, you can use my translations to re-retranslate Gozen 0-ji in Italian.

  2. chii2009
    May 19, 2015 @ 04:48:56

    Sorry for the disturb but it’s possible for us to retranslate also Midara na Nettaigyo? Thank you. Regards.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

