Rant… and then Bliss

I’ve been translating a lot of manga on Mangalator lately, about 8-9 different series. I normally enjoy it because I can focus on the manga that I’m interested in. However, recently there have been a few cases where someone new jumps in and translates the chapter that I was working on before I can finish it, even after I said that I’m currently translating it. It’s frustrating because it’s a waste of my time to work on a translation for a couple of hours and then stop. I don’t understand why people lack the common sense or courtesy to check on whether a manga is already being worked on. Sometimes I wonder if it’s worth continuing to translate manga there, but I don’t want to let the readers down (and the fansubs that use my translations). So I’ll continue for now, but if this kind of thing happens more and more, then I’ll probably rethink my decision.

So… while I was feeling a bit annoyed because of this latest incident, I received a package in the mail from CD Japan. It’s my Sakisaka Io Illustrations book (for Aoharaido and Strobe Edge)! Talk about good timing! My mood went from sour to happy in an instant, lol.

Aoharaido and Strobe Edge illustrations... kyaaa

Aoharaido and Strobe Edge illustrations… kyaaa

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Myrre
    Jun 15, 2015 @ 16:01:15

    Omg yes, I totally understand how that feels. >_> I thought I was the only one being frustrated because it seemed like some other translators didn’t mind letting others translate a new chapter (which is okay since people are different, but they specifically said that it’s fine, whereas other translators never said so yet people keep barging in anyway). But seriously, there are some people in the mangalator community that are really lacking in common sense and/or courtesy. It’s like, there are so many new manga series being put up lately so why can’t you go work on those instead of picking up something someone is already working on…? =w=

    And I don’t know if anyone else feels this way, but there are also times when a reader goes “SOMEONE PLEASE TRANSLATE THIS” as soon as they see a new raw chapter up (or when there are already a ton of raw chapters up but I’ve only translated a portion of them) and I’m just thinking to myself, “I’ve been working on this series this whole time and if you just check my profile you would be able to tell that I’m still actively translating so why do you assume I’m not going to work on it and instead mislead other potential translators into thinking it’s abandoned or w/e so that they jump in and try to take over?” And it’s not like I work slow either. -_- But it feels like people don’t care as long as they get their reading IMMEDIATELY/ASAP, and then I imagine what it would be like when I no longer have so much free time, and it really made me consider either quitting or just giving in and translating whatever random chapter out that I feel like translating at whatever time I feel like it and just abandoning the rest.:/

    Sorry for adding my own rant to your rant btw, haha. I just needed to get this off my chest to someone who might understand. Q_Q

    Yay, I like both those series too.😀

    Reply

    • dnjs
      Jun 15, 2015 @ 17:50:38

      I agree with everything that you said… it’s really great to know that someone else feels the same way! Not that it’s great to feel this way, but it is good to know that I’m not the only one who is frustrated with the lack of courtesy. It seems like people don’t bother to check and see what’s been translated for a particular series and I think that ends up causing a lot of confusion. I realize that it is a public site which allows anyone to translate anything they want, but since that’s the case, it would be better if people paid more attention to what’s going on instead of randomly translating whatever they feel like. Yeah, it does seem like some people don’t care who translates what as long as they can read it quickly, so it makes me happy to hear from readers that they appreciate the hard work we do translating… that’s what keeps me going. If not for that, I would probably stop.

      And I don’t mind your ranting… please feel free to rant anytime or stop by to discuss if something is bothering you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

