Geez… not again

Another rant… sorry.

It happened again on Mangalator… but this time, I even sent the Chapter 1 raws to the site admin, since the manga series was missing both Chapter 1 and Chapter 2. I posted comments about translating the series, as well as sending the Chapter 1 raws, but once again, someone rudely jumps in without bothering to take a couple of minutes to read the comments first.

I got chastised by a reader who thought that I was being rude to the other translator for pointing out that they were rude about jumping in first to translate. Sure, I could have been more polite about it, but the direct approach seems to be more effective. I’ve tried polite before.

Anyway, I have the raws for Chapter 1 and 2 of a different manga series, but I think I’ll just scanlate them here myself.

I’m leaning towards less involvement on Mangalator as the current manga series that I’m translating wrap up. Then I’ll have less stress and more time to work on my own scanlation projects.🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Myrre
    Jun 21, 2015 @ 18:34:29

    Oh boy… I saw that earlier today and just went and did a facepalm. Well, hopefully more people will learn from that as an example and actually read now. Hopefully… >_>

    Were you ever part of a scan group before or did you teach yourself how to clean and typeset?😮 I’m kind of interested in scanlating myself.

    Reply

    • dnjs
      Jun 21, 2015 @ 20:11:58

      Yeah… it was even more annoying than usual because I actually saved the Chapter 1 raws and sent them to the site admin, specifically so that I could start translating the series from the beginning. I really don’t know if all the back-and-forth conversation will help or not, but I thought that the person who told me that I should delete my comments was kind of rude. Well, in the end, it is what it is and I am planning to cut way back on my translating there after all of the current series that I am working on finish.

      I only helped out as a translator for a couple of scanlation groups, but I dabbled in Photoshop for several years, so I’m pretty decent with it. Have you tried GIMP? It’s freeware and has pretty much the same capabilities that Photoshop has. Let me know if you have any questions about either program!

      Reply

      • Myrre
        Jun 22, 2015 @ 06:19:29

        Yeah, that really sucks…:/ The translator was apologetic so that was nice but the other person really didn’t need to butt in.

        I get so relieved whenever a series I’m working on ends but then I end up finding another series I want to work on. It just never stops! ;w; I also don’t think some of the series I’m working on are going to end anytime soon. orz I really need to stop picking up the ones that are long and full of text and have not so common vocab.😄

        Hmm I’ve only used Photoshop a couple of times when I was in school. I did try GIMP before but never actually used it for anything. It’s weird getting used to new paint programs because I’ve been drawing in SAI for so long (and SAI doesn’t have text tool so I can’t use it for typesetting >w>). I’ll try scanlating a chapter of some manga some time with GIMP. Thanks for the suggestion!😀

Leave a Reply

