Signs of life

Well, after almost one week of no updates, it appears that the former Mangalator is showing a small sign of life… the site admin’s FB page was finally updated with this image. At first people were confused and thought the FB page was hacked, but someone found this message in the source code: “I’m going back. Stay tuned!”. A bit clever.😉

I am glad that it appears there will be a Mangalator, version 2, or whatever it will be called. However, short of the admin not being able to access the internet for the whole week, I think it would have been nice if he/she had provided an update sooner which would have alleviated a lot of drama. People were upset and arguing on FB about the possible reasons for the site disappearing. Since no one seems to know what really happened, other than the site owner, I’ll just go with the thought that he/she was incapable of providing a status update for whatever reason.

As for the new or revised site, I’m taking a wait-and-see approach… will the site provide only raw scans and no translations? If there is translation capability, what about the translations from Mangalator? Were they saved? Will they be available on the new site? I really hope so, because a lot of hours went into those translations. If none of the translations were saved and the new site is set up the same way, then I’m probably going to focus on just a couple of josei series, instead of all 11 manga series that I was working on at Mangalator. I’ll let the young, eager translators compete over who can translate manga faster, lol. Going on vacation for 16 days and the site disappearing for a week made me realize how much of my free time I was spending there… it was too much.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Myrre
    Jul 20, 2015 @ 09:58:21

    I knew it was raff because she was the one who created otakumole (which was used in mangalator images like the “hugs”) and I doubt any hackers fooling around would use it since not a lot of people know about otakumole.😄 It is a big relief to see that she’s okay. I’m guessing we’ll get an actual announcement about what happened when the site goes back up. I’m not sure if she’s going to switch the site address though; I just assumed the new site is a separate site for other purposes which raff was using temporarily to show us the comic, but who knows. If the translations are gone for good, I would probably only redo and/or continue the ones I like a lot… And this time, I’m saving the scripts on my computer!😄

    Reply

    • dnjs
      Jul 20, 2015 @ 10:12:53

      Oh, okay! That’s good to know.🙂 Considering the site was slapped with a lot of DMCA notices, a couple ones as recent as last month, I don’t know if Raff plans to continue with the original Mangalator or do something a little different… the original site set up was always a bit dangerous, because raw scans were hosted (even though they were low-res) and not just scanlated chapters. I’m with you on saving the translated scripts! I hope they are not gone for good.

      Reply

  2. Myrre
    Jul 21, 2015 @ 13:00:36

    Omg, the comic strip updated.😄 I guess there might be new panels every 1-2 days.

    Reply

  3. GrandHound
    Jul 22, 2015 @ 09:22:30

    It lives! Otakumole.ch is live!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

