2000 points e-book campaign for honto newcomers

I found this awesome campaign when I checked out honto’s web site today! For anyone who hasn’t purchased an e-book through honto yet, they are running the following campaign this week only:

banner_2000points_m

  • Spend 300 – 499 yen and get 300 points
  • Spend 500 – 999 yen and get 500 points
  • Spend at least 1000 yen and get a whopping 2000 points!

2000 points is unheard of! When I first bought from honto, I think I got 500 points for spending at least 1000 yen and I thought that was a great deal, lol. Points are the same as cash when you use them, so 2000 points is like getting 2000 yen to spend. Please note that most points usually expire the end of the following month, so if you are awarded points in September, you normally have until the end of October to use them or lose them. Here’s an example of how honto’s points and coupons work:
honto order

This is my e-book order today:

  • Total price before coupons/points: 2236 yen for 7 books
  • 30% off coupon for comics: (640 yen)
  • Points used: (432 yen)
  • Final total price: 1164 yen
  • Points earned for order: 100 points

As you can see, I’m only paying around half (1164 yen) of the total price of 2236 yen and I also earned 100 points to use by the end of September.🙂

Registering at honto is a little tricky, so you can read how to sign up here: Without Restraints. As for reading the e-books, there are readers available for PC, iPhone/iPad, and Android devices. Installing the PC version is a no-brainer, just download from their site and follow the installation instructions. Unfortunately for iPhone/iPad and Android devices, I believe the digital reader is only available for download in their Japan stores. However, there are ways around that! For iPhone/iPad, you need to set up an iTunes Japan account… you can do that by signing up with a different email address from your regular iTunes account. I forgot the exact instructions, but if you Google how to set up another iTunes account, there is plenty of helpful advice available. For Android devices, I downloaded the TunnelBear app (easy-to-use VPN client) to access the Google Play Japan store.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. xiaobear
    Aug 23, 2015 @ 18:46:53

    Thank you for the notice!! Gonna sign up and see what series I feel like collecting. ^^

    Reply

    • dnjs
      Aug 23, 2015 @ 18:55:31

      yw🙂 I’m glad that you will be able to take advantage of the campaign!

      Reply

      • xiaobear
        Aug 23, 2015 @ 19:20:09

        Sorry for being troublesome… :;(∩´﹏`∩);:
        Just to clarify, if I were to spend above 1000 yen, even though it is not reflected in the checkout page, the points from the campaign will still be credited to me after the first payment right? Or is it supposed to be reflected? (ó﹏ò。) http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb320/xiaomeows/capture-20150824-131129.jpg

      • dnjs
        Aug 23, 2015 @ 19:43:16

        No, it’s okay… I know that it can be confusing. If you click on the actual campaign link, it shows all the information about the campaign. The fifth section explains when the points are given out… they will show up in your account in early September (no specific date though).
        Points given out

        Here’s the Chrome English translation: Points given out - English

        Sometimes the points show up right away and other times they are awarded at a later date. Did you also enter the “72 hour e-books earn up to 35x the points” campaign? If you spend between 1000 – 1999 yen, you will earn 100 points. This campaign will show up immediately in your checkout page (it’s the same 100 points that I earned during my e-book checkout today).
        35x points

  2. xiaobear
    Aug 23, 2015 @ 20:33:05

    Thank you for the explanation!
    No I haven’t but once I enter I will need to make purchase within 72 hours right? I shall take my time to reconsider my purchases in the meanwhile and not do any impulse buys w
    Thank you so much for the guide! (`・ω・´)ゞ

    Reply

    • dnjs
      Aug 23, 2015 @ 21:03:33

      yw! Actually the 72 hour limit started Monday, August 24 (Japan time) and ends on Wednesday, August 26 (23:59 Japan time), so make sure that you enter and place your order before then.🙂 I made a mistake a few times and missed a deadline because I forgot about the time difference with Japan, lol. Also, there’s a 10% off coupon for an order of 3+ manga or 20% off for a manga set… this coupon is good until Thursday, August 27. honto almost always has multiple campaigns running at the same time, so it’s good to have a strategy.😉
      10% off coupon

      Reply

Leave a Reply

