Otakumole is alive

So, Otakumole is back… read Raff’s announcement here: Otakumole is up. The great news is that people can now view the scans with the translations again, yay! The bubble interface is somewhat cute as well. It seems to be hit or miss on whether the Bubbler interface works though, so if you have trouble with your computer or browser, try a different browser or your laptop/phone/tablet instead. I’m still concerned about the possibility that the scans will get deleted again one day. Nothing was ever confirmed about the real reason why the scans were deleted in the first place.

It sounds like the translators will be able to start translating on Otakumole again next week, so I’m going to put my summaries on hold for now. Even though writing summaries takes less time than translations for me, they still take around 1.5 – 2 hours per summary on average, so I rather not spend time writing summaries for the same manga series that I will be translating. I hope to continue translating the following series on Otakumole (unless other people work on chapters before I can finish them): Totsuzen Desu ga, Ashita Kekkon Shimasu; Zettai Toudo; Midara na Nettaigyo; Koi ni Tsuite Hanasou ka; Mephistopheles wa Dare; and Gozen 0-ji ni Kiss Shi ni Kite yo. Yeah… pretty much all the Petit Comic manga that I’ve been summarizing, lol, with the exception of Onegai, Sore o Yamenai de… I’m kind of bored with that manga.

I haven’t decided whether I’ll keep buying Petit Comic magazine going forward. I’m waiting to see how the revamped Otakumole and Raffmanga sites will pan out.

46 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nikperez8141991
    Sep 12, 2015 @ 19:00:53

    I can’t thank Raff-san enough!♥ But yeah, oh my gosh… Me too…. I’m also kind worried that one day, everything will be gone again… T_T But again, I even mustered up the courage to write up a comment in one of Raff-san’s blogpost and told her how worried I was in copying the translations of the many other mangas I haven’t copied yet… That’s why you were my savior for the Petit Comic series I’ve been ff, djns-san… Thanks again! I so wanna triple save everything to make sure i won’t lose those precious copies of translations, ahahah!

    And again thanks a zillion for the summaries! Thanks for your efforts and for your time…!

    And despite my apprehensions, I also hope you can continue with your translations! They are really fun to read, including your side comments.. Ahaha! Especially the ones that I really enjoy like Zettai Toudo, Mephistopheles wa Dare; and Gozen 0-ji ni Kiss Shi ni Kite yo. I just like laugh out so loud when I read them and all my stresses go away… hehe…

    Lastly, thanks for the advice regarding Bubbler! I’ll try to use a diff browser, or probably it just our connection’s slow, hehe, or it’ll work better in another browser other than chrome… Anyways, thanks again!♥

    Reply

    • dnjs
      Sep 12, 2015 @ 19:37:55

      yw🙂 You are sweet, saying such nice comments! It’s really nice to hear that all the hard work is appreciated, thanks! I hope I can continue the translations, but I’m waiting to see how things are going to work on the revamped site. Right now, I can’t get the scans to show up on my pc, but they appear on my iPad and phone. It’s not easy to translate on them though, lol. I’m going to try my laptop next.

      Reply

      • PWC
        Sep 12, 2015 @ 19:48:00

        I think Raff manages something to restrict her website form someone who are not real fanpage. Give her time to revise for a while and everything will be alright.
        Thanks for your attempt, dnjs to translate and summarize the manga for us.

      • dnjs
        Sep 12, 2015 @ 19:57:52

        Yeah, I’m going to wait and see what Raff is planning to do with the site.

  2. PWC
    Sep 12, 2015 @ 19:35:06

    Although Otakumole is back, I’m still your fanpage.
    I will visit both websites and wait for your translating because I think your translations is easy to understand for who’s not good English languge.

    Reply

    • dnjs
      Sep 12, 2015 @ 19:54:47

      Thanks! I’m glad that you think my translations are easy to understand.🙂 I actually despised English classes in school and didn’t like to write papers, lol.

      Reply

  3. Sitti
    Sep 12, 2015 @ 22:41:24

    Hopefully, you’re still continue with your summaries even though mngalator is back. I’m waiting for your translation in Mangalator too.. BTW, thank you so much for the info.^^

    Reply

    • dnjs
      Sep 13, 2015 @ 07:55:41

      Well, writing summaries for and translating the same manga chapters would be twice the work, so I’m not planning to do so for the manga that I’ll continue translating on Otakumole. If I drop a series on Otakumole, then I may summarize it here, if I have the raws myself.🙂

      yw for the information! Hope you are able to access Bubbler with no problems.

      Reply

  4. trans
    Sep 13, 2015 @ 18:02:55

    I’m glad it’s back up, but I can’t seem to get it running! When I click on “Read on Bubbler”, I get a screen telling me “empty screen”…. I saw the help file that someone kindly made, but it looks like it’s made for people who want to read it with translations. Anyone can view it w/o the translations? (T__T) I’m trying on my PC via Chrome. Helppppppppppp

    Reply

    • dnjs
      Sep 13, 2015 @ 18:34:10

      Hmm… did you try this? When you click on a chapter to read and the Images Repository URL window appears, copy that link, then click on “Read on Bubbler” and paste the copied URL in the Background URL box?

      Reply

  5. trans
    Sep 14, 2015 @ 06:42:32

    I did that (copy the URL etc) but nothing happens… Do we have to make a Bubbler Acct before we can read the stuff? I can see thumbnails of the raws on Raffmanga itself, so I presume that I’ve an account?

    Also, I notice that the links aren’t up for some manga, so I guess Raff’s still pretty busy getting everything uploaded🙂

    Reply

    • dnjs
      Sep 14, 2015 @ 07:24:06

      No, you shouldn’t need to make a Bubbler account. I couldn’t get Bubbler to work with my pc, but I can see the images on my laptop, iPad, and phone (android). I saw a comment on Raffmanga that someone thought the issue might be a javascript thing… but I don’t know anything about javascript errors, so I wouldn’t know how to fix it, lol. Did you try on other devices, like your phone?

      Reply

    • xiaobear
      Sep 15, 2015 @ 01:46:38

      have you enabled the “Story layout” option?

      And I realised Raff has started to upload chapters again (since 12 sept actually).
      I only saw them just now ^^;;

      Reply

  6. ceecilex
    Sep 16, 2015 @ 06:05:58

    I feel like I’m going to leave a bit of a controversial opinion, but at the risk of sounding ungrateful I’m going to say it anyway.

    I’m definitely really happy that Otakumole is back up and that everything is still intact. But a part of me can’t help but feel a little bit bitter over the secrecy of what was going on. If I’d known that Raff would go back to posting raws, there are definitely some manga magazines I wouldn’t have bought (like Cheese! and Cocohana). But more than that, I never thought that what was deleted would be brought back. Had I known, there are some mangas I wouldn’t have bought. And had we known the translations would remain, we wouldn’t have been scrambling to save them, without the pictures to help, in case the site might be deleted completely.
    Also I think some translators have left because they thought the site was dead for good.

    Obviously she doesn’t owe us anything, last thing I want is to sound entitled because I seriously HATE that, but I do think it could have been handled better. Especially considering what a huge following the site has.

    I can get Bubbler to work just fine both on my computer and phone (the bubbles become a bit annoying and distracting after a while).

    Reply

    • dnjs
      Sep 16, 2015 @ 07:41:42

      I understand how you feel… I also think that more information/clarification would have been helpful. It’s possible that Raff didn’t want to divulge too much information because of what happened with Mangalator, but since there wasn’t a clear explanation on why the images were deleted, it’s hard to understand the need for so much secrecy. A lot of us assumed that someone/some group went after her site because of sharing raw scans, but since that seems far-fetched, was she forced to take them down because of family pressure, time constraints, technical or hosting issues, scanlation group threats…? I am still concerned that whatever happened previously which caused her to delete the images, could happen again.

      Yeah, scrambling around to save translations was not fun. I’m so grateful to enende for offering to save the translations using her script, which was a major time-saver! If she didn’t save the rest of the translations for me, I would have spent several more weeks copying them. As for the magazines, I probably wouldn’t have bought Petit Comic and posted summaries here, if I had known that the site would be back.

      I’m glad that Otakumole is up and running again and I appreciate all the hard work that Raff has put into the site. It’s also nice to know that all the work put in by the many translators didn’t go to waste. I just hope whatever happened last time that forced her to delete the images won’t occur again.

      Reply

      • ceecilex
        Sep 16, 2015 @ 08:03:41

        Bubbler seems to be a way to effectively keep the copyright people at bay since you have to do a few manips before the picture actually appears plus registration is closed and she seems set on keeping it that way.
        What I’ve noticed is that I get tons of views coming from Japan on my blog, which I find kind of weird?
        I guess we’ll probably never know.

      • dnjs
        Sep 16, 2015 @ 08:12:39

        Yeah, hopefully the way she has everything set up now will make it less likely for her to encounter legal or other issues going forward. I’ve also gotten quite a few views from Japan… they have access to all manga and magazines, so why do they need to visit our blogs? lol

  7. trans
    Sep 19, 2015 @ 07:00:38

    I agree with you guys abt it could’ve been handled better. In fact, I emailed Raff privately just to ask her abt what happened but she never replied😦 Of course she doesn’t owe us anything but it would have been great to understand more.

    I can finally view the stuff on Bubbler! Thanks guys for all the help! And yes the bubbles are bloody irritating.

    Reply

  8. sachi
    Oct 02, 2015 @ 16:09:19

    I know that she’s not opening registration to new people. Sigh. I should have registered when I had the chance. Would you know anyone with a spare account who would be willing to share?

    Reply

  9. Ferry Yanto
    Dec 30, 2015 @ 23:27:59

    How can i register on it?

    Reply

    • dnjs
      Jan 06, 2016 @ 16:41:53

      Registration is closed, but if you keep checking the Raffmanga main page. I think Raff opens up registration opportunities every so often.

      Reply

  10. Yoyo
    Jan 02, 2016 @ 19:07:39

    Looking forward to this^^

    Reply

  11. ceecilex
    Jan 06, 2016 @ 19:28:43

    Actually registration is open right now ☺

    Reply

  12. Cheryl Bisessar
    Jan 07, 2016 @ 05:05:12

    I already had an account like for a year. But why is otakumole not open. I didn’t have to ragister cause i already had an account right?

    Reply

    • dnjs
      Jan 07, 2016 @ 18:42:20

      Well, it would actually be your old Mangalator account, I think. You should be able to log in from the Otakumole main page with your old Manglator information. If you don’t remember what that is, post a comment for Raff on the main RaffManga page.

      Reply

  13. Ann Marie Tolentino
    Jan 25, 2016 @ 06:16:07

    why can’t i log in anymore?? and it says my account is inactive? is there anyway to log in again? coz i am dying to read my favorite manga translation.

    Reply

    • dnjs
      Jan 27, 2016 @ 19:30:37

      Your best option is to try and contact Raff by posting a comment on Raffmanga. She should be able to tell you what is going on with your account.

      Reply

  14. Michelle Aprilia
    Jan 26, 2016 @ 00:31:39

    plz give me ur otakumole’s account, i can’t register but i really want to read manga at there

    Reply

    • dnjs
      Jan 27, 2016 @ 19:34:54

      Sorry, but I won’t share my account. Raff occasionally opens up registration, so you should keep checking the site. I think the last time registration was open was in early January.

      Reply

  15. Sheyla Quesada
    Feb 01, 2016 @ 07:55:51

    how can we register in otakumole

    Reply

  16. guadalupe1998
    Feb 02, 2016 @ 10:00:46

    yo tambien quiero registrame ayuda

    Reply

  17. Kirakiraboshi
    Feb 11, 2016 @ 13:06:45

    Why raffmanga is so secretive…? Even other manga sites is not secretive as
    that…actually I found it a bit weird.. :3 there’s a day I ask raffmanga why I can’t read manga like before without using bubbler…then she said “if you don’t like it don’t use it🙂 ” and then I can’t open my account… I’am speechless…did I made her mad..?
    When I want to sign in..it said my account is inactive…is that mean she block me?
    I love otakumole because I can read raw manga and I can learn Japanese by that site..if I can, I want to buy Japanese manga but it really expensive… I’m grateful that, I found that site but.. what she did really broke my heart.. right in my kokoro..I really fond to that site..I want to register but I can’t..😦 and I also ask raffmanga is there another site such otakumole..I think she got mad because of that..I’m just asking..because it’s rare to have such a good site.. even if I explain to her she didn’t reply..if there a way to register I really want to join in..I hope her site will open without have to log in like before..

    Reply

    • dnjs
      Feb 11, 2016 @ 22:48:50

      Mangalator/Otakumole shut down for several weeks in August – September last year due to issues. Raff mentioned something about being forced to take down the scans, but never said exactly what happened. When Raff reopened Otakumole, she decided to make it a closed community, which she has every right to do.

      I am confused by your comments about bubbler and not being able to open your account. How can you see the manga with bubbler if you can’t access your account? At any rate, if you had an existing account, then you should be able to reset your password or ask Raff for help in resetting your password.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

