Kim Jae Wook

Kim Jae-Wook.jpg

I considered just using this picture as my post and nothing else, because words aren’t necessary. 😀

He is my hands down favorite among all the popular Korean actors. The first drama that I saw him in was “The Voice” and he definitely stood out from the rest of the cast due to his good looks and character portrayal and while I did not like his character at all, he made the show very interesting to watch. I don’t want to give away the story too much, so I really can’t talk about his character in detail.

After watching “The Voice”, I looked for other dramas to watch and discovered, much to my delight, that he can speak Japanese fairly well and starred in the movie, “Butterfly Sleep”, with Nakayama Miho. I watched a lot of her dramas back in the day, so I was excited to see her in it as well. The story centered on an age-gap romance between a Japanese romance writer and a Korean university student. It wasn’t bad, but it would have been nice to see their relationship fleshed out a bit more. The only thing that I really didn’t like was their hairstyles, lol. Kim Jae Wook’s character was around 10 years younger than his real age, so I think the hairstyle was chosen to make him look younger… but it was not flattering at all, unfortunately. For Miho’s character, the severe black blunt cut was also not very flattering but it did the trick and made her look older and tired. Her character was supposed to be in their 50’s, so several years older than her real age. The 30-ish gap was a bit of a stretch since the actors are only 13 years apart in real life but I think it worked okay. On a side note, have you seen the red carpet photos of Miho and Kim Jae Wook? Gorgeous, both of them!

The next drama starring Kim Jae Wook was “Her Private Life”, which is now playing on Netflix, yay! I watched it online through my subscription with Viki but I’m planning to re-watch it again on Netflix. I love this drama! As I mentioned in my first post here after a five-year break, this drama is the one that inspired the fangirl in me to revive this blog. 😀 Yes, it’s a cute, fluffy drama, but the acting really made it enjoyable to watch. Park Min Young did a good job at being awkwardly cute and funny and her fan-girly antics were hilarious. Kim Jae Wook was… well, as I said in my first sentence, words aren’t necessary. He was handsome and arrogant at first, but then turned into a total sweetheart. I really liked that their interactions together seemed so natural and not forced.

The most recent drama that I watched was “The Guest”. It was a pretty creepy drama about exorcism and I think Kim Jae Wook did a good job portraying a conflicted priest. The show was interesting, but I prefer cute, happy dramas over disturbing ones.

Looking forward to watching him in new dramas/movies, but I’ll need to be patient since he seems to take time between projects and not rush things. In the meantime, I’m also looking at his older works to see if they are available online to watch.

Leave a comment